Altec Smart Security System (Reviews)

Free
3.7 (589)
FILTER BY

Reviews

will 2021-03-07 21:04
Ok big edit. Cameras connected. the phone needs to have location services on or else app wont connect or allow a ssid to be entered when searching for WiFi.
Hector Casillas 2021-02-13 19:11
Really good
Karen Burgin 2021-02-02 05:32
IT has a real large view
Irfaan Ramzan 2020-12-23 22:20
Really straight forward and what we need it for each room we are in. No lag and great quality with prompt sound and notifications. In fact, the response of picking up motion with Altec is always faster than what our Ring doorbell doesto notify us of sound and motion! impressive, especially considering its price. This company should work on more products with the goal of maintaining a low market price. These other companies are charging ridiculous prices for little or less difference in quality!
Brad The Great 2020-12-13 19:30
I've tried connecting to this camera dozens of times. The camera finally said it's connected to my wifi, but the app keeps claiming that no camera is detected. What a waste of money.
Bobbie Betts 2020-12-11 05:48
It glitches alot. And you can't fully tell what everything is on the video and if it's day time you can't see certain parts cause it's too bright. Night time the night vision doesn't make everything clear. The sound very loudly picks up every single background noise and hardly any voices. Sometimes it records for 2 minutes sometimes for a few seconds and sometimes for up to 8 minutes even if there is nothing there. All in all the cloud service is pretty cheap, it's still good just not A1
one of a kind 2020-12-03 02:41
They sell garbage and they dont even know anything about the items. Only 2 guys answer their phone and its not even a professional service
Michael Pommer 2020-11-11 17:46
It used to work, now only live view works. Cloud recordings don't work, SD card recordings don't work, it's almost completely useless.
Luis Quinto 2020-11-05 12:18
👍👍
Jim Leeth 2020-10-07 04:39
The cloud subscription no longer works. Great for live video but that is it. Even free 7 day does not work. Website does not have this product anymore. Likely they discontinued the product and that is why they will not even respond on support. Lost all respect for me. I will not purchase any products from them and will tell all my viewers on my stream, and all my friends streaming about best gear to use, to avoid Altec Lansing.
Billie Walters 2020-10-02 10:56
Cant buy cloud pkg
brandon payne 2020-09-22 16:32
App just stopped working tried uninstalling and reinstall but still doesn't work . No app support at all
Laura Cash 2020-09-22 11:51
Edit: now the app won't play back any clips. The only thing that works is the live feed. Very dissapointed.
Jeremy Millard 2020-09-19 00:55
Geegee Mi
Ariel 2020-09-18 01:19
Mines won't let me sign into the app to look at my camera.
Bastian Wolf 2020-09-03 23:50
Camera works great but ant pay cloud subscription. Very frustrating.
Troy Blank 2020-08-30 19:43
**app development is DEAD** 👎👎☠️☠️ I'm using your 360 camera. When I view full screen I'd like the video to remain still and full view instead of zooming in and scanning. When it zooms in and scans I miss things happening slightly out of view. I'd like the option to turn that off in settings.
Matt Swearengin 2020-08-16 14:10
Just has trouble connecting to phones
Sarah Floyd 2020-08-02 12:39
I did not download this
Rik Winters 2020-07-26 00:47
The whole system is simple to use, but don't get this bundle confused with the Google Home Speaker (or Hub) and something like a Smart WiFi Camera - because that's not what this is. The camera cannot be streamed to T.V., and it only functions through the phone app (including the 2-way voice, so you're not using it as a front door intercom through Google Home). If you have issues, connect your phone to your 2.4Ghz Wifi, factory reset the camera and delete the camera from your app. Then ensure you pair it properly through your 2.4Ghz Wifi (even going as far as to disable your 5Ghz radio in your router if you're having trouble with the camera connecting to that by default - usually because your phone is/was connected to it.) It'd be nice to receive an OTA firmware update that makes the camera usable within Google Home or SmartThings, or for Altec Lansing to do the dirty work of integrating the camera wtih their 'Altec Smart' Google Home cloud integration so you can stream it and make use of the 2-way in other ways than solely through their app. There's a free 7-day cloud storage thing that lets you store videos for the last 7 days on the cloud, and access them 20 times per day. Or you can pay for 24/14 access. However, with no cloud subscription after recording has finished it'll simply store the video to your phone, and you can access it through Files (Google's file management app). Lastly, I've had mine about a year and a half now - and yesterday was the first time it ever locked up, seemingly bricked - until I unplugged it, held the button (power) for 10 seconds, and then restarted it... working as always now.. Overall I'll give it a 4/5 only because its missing features! ><
Arlene Quinn-Wood 2020-07-22 14:51
Lot of issues. it works as far as videos and it has a very clear picture. Options to record or snapshot. But If you want to monitor it for long periods of time it will burn your screen. There's no option to go whole screen. It automatically zooms in randomly. some apps zoom in to where the motion us detected. Not this one it goes the opposite. Cloud don't work Rely on the memory only. No one replies to contact for questions. Looking for a better app that's compatable to the camera.
Jon Myers 2020-07-19 20:27
Cameras will not connect and customer service was poor
Lindsey Austin 2020-07-14 07:49
Was working great for over a year and now all of a sudden you can't purchase a subscription. So now of course nothing backs up, you can't go back and watch any videos. I have reached out to support several times with absolutely no help!!!! Do not waste your time or money on them.
MsRobin1 TF 2020-07-12 17:57
Please fix! Area for WiFi SSID is greyed out cannot enter SSID. Can only enter pass word. Fix please
David Hoffman 2020-07-12 11:48
The videos are corrupted trying to up grade recording service wont let me i delited the app and reinstalled it
Andrew Johnson 2020-07-09 06:22
Well everything works good except the fact that the app won't allow me to buy the cloud subscription package. Every time i click subscribe a loading screen pops up and then disappears only to end up right back where I started. Never had this problem before. Also if lights are on in the room it appears to bright to see anything and the night vision only really works close up which defeats the purpose of detecting anything from a clear distance in the dark. New equipment/company here I come.
tracey hulin 2020-07-01 04:25
Love it had. No problems yeah !!
Kel Mac 2020-06-09 19:23
Error messages for every video. No recent update to correct this issue.
Mauricio Hernandez 2020-06-07 18:17
Needs better camera
Chris Bryant 2020-06-03 13:39
Never disappointed, awesome